It gives me great pleasure to review the millennium year 2000 on behalf of C.L.G Baile Ui Bheachain/Fanoir which provide to be an other historic year for under age football. Business started as usual for the club with our A.G.M on the 30th of December 1999 in St John’s Hall our local parish community centre.

After winning the Banner Cup in 1999 we entered Cusack Cup Division II football for the first time ever this year and also entered teams from U12 to U21 and a team each in the Junior A & B championship 2000.


Officers elected for office 2000 were


Life President:                                       Sean Flanagan.

Vice President:                         Michael Quinn.

Chairman:                                             Patrick McCarthy.

Vice Chairman:                         Patrick Costello.

Secretary:                                             Peter Doolin.

Assistant Secretary:                              Robert Wainwright.

P.R.O.:                                     Mary Connole.

Treasurer:                                             Patrick O’Donoghue.

Assistant Treasurer:                              Ivan Gannon.

Club Registrars:                                    Olaf O’Neill.

                                                            Kieran Linnane.

County Board Delegates:                      Patrick Costello.

                                                            Peter Doolin.

Bord na Nog Representatives:   Michael Greene.

                                                            Patsy Carrucan

Junior Team Management:                    Patrick Costello.

                                                            Olaf O’Neill.

Selectors U12-U18:                             Michael Greene.

                                                            Sean Martyn..

                                                            Patsy Carrucan.

                                                            Tomas Connolly

                                                            Neil O’Loghlen.

                                                            Damien Fahy.

                                                            Jimmy Droney.

                                                            Kieran Linnane.

U21 Management:                                Patrick McCarthy.

                                                            Patrick Costello.









Our under age structures continue to blossom while our adult teams still struggle to make the break through to intermediate status. The Junior A team recorded wins against Lisseycasey in Inagh and Kilimer in Quilty but failed at the second last hurdle to a more superior Clondegad team. Our one and only outing in the junior B championship was against a super fit Bodyke in Ballyline.

U21 championship game was played in Roslevin and resulted in defeat to Cratloe.


With perservence comes success that was probably our motto at the young U14 footballers of the small parish of Ballyvaughan/Fanore when they achieved victory over neighbours Michael Cusacks in the U14 division 3 final played in Ennistymon on the 28th of August 2000.


The under 14 team was captained by Kevin Carrucan and managed by Sean Martyn with selectors Patsy Carrucan and Michael Greene.


Team Line out and scorer's on this victorious occasion was:

Peter O’Donoghue, Sean MacNamara, Diarmuid Greene, Neil O’Loghlen, Cian Walsh, Rosin Greene, John Martyn (2-2), Kevin Carrucan (Capt), Jack Queally (0-1), James Benson, Phelim Kyne (0-1), Senan MacNamara, & Gary O’Toole (2-0)


SUBS:             Trevor Fahy.

                        Aidan Connolly.

                        Thomas Francis.


On Sunday 12 November 00 just before this article was submitted for publication Ballvaughan U16 Division 3 Footballers beat O’Currys at Ballvaughan Community Field on a score line of 2:12 to 2:03. This victory sets up a final meeting with Crusheen in the coming weeks.


Team and scorer's


Peter O’Donoghue, Setanta Moran, Patrick O’Donoghue, Michael J Malone, Michael Linnane, Killian Mahon, James Hynes, (0-2) (Capt). Paul McDonagh, (0-5) Kevin Carrucan, Shane Kildea, Michael Collins, Damien McNamara (2-4)

and John Martyn (0-1).


and Subs:

John McGrath, James Benson, Diarmuid Greene, Neil O’Loghlen, Pat Connole,

Senan McNamara, Sean McNamara.














Ballyvaughan’s first Junior League Crown.

Played at Hennessey Park Miltown on Sunday 6th November 1983.

Ballyvaughan                2:07                 O’Curry’s        1:04

Good defensive play together with the fact that Ballyvaughan made better use of the scoring chances which came there way, were the reasons for Ballyvaughan’s victory.

In  addition to Joseph Guthrie in goal Ballyvaughan had good defenders in Edward O’Loghlen, Patsy Linnane, Paddy and Kieran Clancy. Pat Collins and Paddy Fahy excelled at midfield while in attack Sean Guthrie, Damien Fahy, John O’Loghlen, and Tomas Connolly did well.


The team lined out as follows

Joseph Guthrie, Edward O’Loghlen, John Nilan, Paddy Clancy, Michael Pilkington (Fanore), Kieran Clancy, Patsy Linnane, Pat Collins, Paddy Fahy, Tomas Connolly, (0-1) John O’Loghlen, (0-2) Sean Guthrie, (1-2) Brian McGann, Damien Fahy, (1-2) & Gerard Mahon.


Subs:                David Fahy for Brian McGann.


Other members of the panel included, Johnny Collins, Patrick Costello, Joe Flanagan and Anthony Collins (Finiona).


After the game Clare Football Board Vice Chairman Paddy Keane presented the cup to the winning Ballyvaughan captain John O’Loghlen


Community Field Update:


Work is on going in the new facilities being provided by the Ballyvaughan community. The new dressing rooms are near completion and a car park is also under construction. The committee would like to take this opportunity to thank most sincerely the people of the parish and all others who have supported the development in anyway and look forward to your support and generosity in the future.




Ending on a sad note with the death of Michael Quinn, Bishops Quarter Ballvaughan.

Michael was a great conversationalist and had a keen interest in the G.A.A, greyhounds and also enjoyed a game of cards.

In the 1920’s / 1930’s Michael served as a player and officer with the Ballyvaughan G.A.A club. During that time he also wore the Clare jersey with distinction. His position was goalkeeper. On the field of play he wore a hat which earned him the title

“The man with the hat”. In coursing and on the track he had many successes with the dogs. The highlights of his career were his involvement with the famous Connaught Cup for which he held a nomination for many years.

Ar dheis De ar a h-anaim.



Peter Doolin Secretary