Division 4 Football League Round 3 Ballyvaughan-Fanore v Ml Cusack's

Ballyvaughan Community Field 26-06-2021

Referee Pat Byrne O'Connell (St Breckan's)

A sample of images from Ballyvaughan (2-11) v Michael Cusack's (2-07) Clare Div. 4 Football League game played in beautiful Ballyvaughan GAA Grounds on Saturday 26th June 2021 can be viewed on Burren Eye Photography

Thanks to Willy O'Reilly as always for the excellent pictures.

Ballyvaughan-Fanore had to work hard for the first two points got on the field of play, against Michael Cusack's at the community field on the 26-06-2021. Performance had increased by 100% for the mid-week game v Eire Og in Ennis, this game against Cusack's was always going to be close as the score line states, as all through it was nip and tuck.

Aidan Forde caused a lot of problems for the Ballyvaughan-Fanore defence early on he registered two points, one from a free and one from play. Ballyvaughan-Fanore had a good opening twenty minutes leading at the water break on a score of 1:02 to 0:02. Donnchadh Mahon scored the goal here. Jonah Culligan and John Martyn chipped in with a score each, Jonah with a free and John with his first from play.

On the run in to half time there was a flurry of scores in the white flag department, three each for both sides while Ballyvaughan-Fanore had an even distribution of scorers in Cormac Brennan, James Howard and John Martyn with his second of the day, yet again it was Aidan Forde who kept Cusack's in touch scoring two points from close in free's. Wing forward Joe McGann also scored from play

The second half early exchanges were tough and got tougher as progress was made on the clock. Adrian Nilan and Jonah Culligan kicked two points each. John Martyn finished the day with his third point from play while Hugh Kelly registered Ml Cusack's last score from play, before this Aidan Forde kicked another free straight between the posts.

There was four penalties awarded in this game, three to Michael Cusack's and one to Ballyvaughan-Fanore, the first penalty was saved by Damien McNamara, Joey Droney's shot was deflected to safety as Damien did well to parry the powerful shot. Aidan McNamara made no mistake as he scored the other two. Jonah Culligan scored for Ballyvaughan-Fanore, the best was saved until last as this daisy cutter to the left corner giving Shane Lee no chance of stopping it in the Cusack's goal.

Thanks to Pat Byrne O' Connell from St Breckan's for doing referee in this game

Damien McNamara Mark Walsh Kieran Casey Joseph Flanagan Adam Walsh Philip Queally Neil Walsh Cormac Brennan (0:01) James Hynes Lorcan Mahon Donnchadh Mahon (1:00) James Howard (C) (0:01) Adrian Nilan (0:02)(2f) Jonah Culligan (1:04) (3f) (1 Penalty) John Martyn (0:03)


Scion Flanagan for James Howard, Sean Casserly for Jonah Culligan, James Howard for Donnchadh Mahon, Ian Woods for Mark Walsh

Shane Lee, Robert Hunt, Rory McMahon, Conor Fahy, Hugh Kelly (0:01), Danny O'Connor and Thomas Roche, John Fawle and Lorcan O'Grady, Joe Mcgann (0:01), Aidan McNamara, (2:00)(2 Penalties), Killian Droney, Joey Droney, Sean Brosnan and Aidan Forde (0:05)(4f).

Ballyvaughan-Fanore Gaa Club on Facebook

Facebook Page Please click the link on the left to launch.