2018 Junior A Football Championship Round 1 Ballyvaughan-Fanore v Cratloe

Early bursts of scoring in the opening minutes up to the 10th minute saw both teams level on two points each, as Cratloe opened their account with a free from Damien Browne and Jonah Culligan had registered two points from play before Jamie Arthur pointed from play to keep the pressure on in the early stages. Cormac McGann came off the bench on a cameo blood sub role to score a point and make it 3 to 2, this lead was increased further with points from play by James Howard and Raymond Casey, while Cratloe pulled back 2 scores of their own, as in one from a free by Damien Browne and a point from play by Robert Conlon.

The next movement was a killer blow for Ballyvaughan-Fanore, a well worked hand passing exercise fed Dean Deloughery with the ball and he crashed the ball to the net to give Cratloe a 1:04 to 0:05 lead, but this was to be short lived as directly from the resultant kick out the ball was worked up the field in the same manor as the build up to the Cratloe for which Jonah Culligan found Tomas Francis and he made no mistake and took his score well to put Ballyvaughan-Fanore back in to the lead again. On the decent to half time Ballyvaughan-Fanore made no mistakes on letting the lead slip and five unanswered points were taken to leave the half time score read Ballyvaughan-Fanore 1:10 Cratloe 1:04. James Howard's 45' was one of these five points scored he also scored one from play while Jonah Culligan had three, two from play and one from a free.

The second half did resume with more scoring bursts from both teams as Jonah Culligan again had a score this time from a free, then it was Cratloe's turn when Padraig Chaplain scored a close in free and Dathaí Collins had a missed goal chance seconds earlier. When Jamie Hynes got a chance of a goal he made no mistake on finding the net 2:11 to 1:05 now and from here on in it was mostly all one way traffic as substitute Donnacdh Mahon had two points from play and Adrian Nilan (0:01), Neil Walsh (0:01) and Raymond Casey with his second of the day all raised white flags and Raymond Casey's raised the biggests cheer also from the Ballyvaughan-Fanore travelling crowd.

Damien McNamara pulled off a late save in the second half to deny Cratloe a certain goal and it must also be mentioned that the Cratloe keeper's double save in the first half must have been one of the highlights of this fixture.

Next up for Ballyvaughan-Fanore is Cooraclare, while Cratloe will have to play Michael Cusack's.


Damien McNamara, John Mooney jnr, Sean McNamara, Mark Walsh, Phelim Kyne, Philip Queally, Neil Walsh, James Howard & James Hynes, Jonah Culligan, Adrian Nilan, Scion Flanagan, Martin Howard, Raymond Casey & Thomas Francis.


Cormac McGann for Jamie Hynes (Blood Sub), Ronan Fahy for Phelim Kyne, Cormac McGann for Jamie Hynes (Blood Sub), Donnacdh Mahon for Martin Howard, Adam Walsh for Thomas Francis, Cormac McGann for Scion Flanagan.

Jonah Culligan (0:07, 2f)

Jamie Hynes (1:00)

Tomas Francis (1:00)

James Howard (0:03, 1 45')

Raymond Casey (0:02)

Donnacdh Mahon (0:02)

Adrian Nilan (0:01)

Cormac McGann (0:01)

Neil Walsh (0:01)

Cratloe Team.

Eoin O'Kelly, Richie Murray, Sean O Gorman, Caimin Deegan, Pakie O Gorman, Evan Keogh, Enda O Connor, Pa Sheehan, Ciaran O Connor, Damian Browne, Jamie Arthur, Dean DeLoughrey, Padraigh Chaplin, Paudi Earls, Robert Conlon.


Ballyvaughan-Fanore Gaa Club on Facebook

Facebook Page Please click the link on the left to launch.